DUS – Driving Under Suspension Law
In Ohio, your License Can be Suspended for the Following Reasons
- 12-points: Accumulation of 12 points within a two-year period.
- Administrative License Suspension (ALS) Positive Test: Testing with a prohibited blood alcohol concentration.
- Administrative License Suspension (ALS) Test Refusal: Refusing to submit to a blood, breath or urine test when requested to do so by law enforcement.
- Child Support: Failure to pay child support
- Court Suspensions: A suspension invoked by a court.
- First Offense DUI: DUI coded by the presiding court as a first offense within the last six years.
- Habitual Use of Alcohol/Drugs: Conviction of three or more Alcohol/Drug related offenses within a three year period.
- High School Suspension: Unauthorized withdrawal from school, habitual absence without legitimate excuse, or suspension/expulsion for drugs or alcohol.
- In-State Drug Related: Individual found guilty by an Ohio court of drug related offenses under Chapter 2925 of Ohio Revised Code.
- Judgments: Unsatisfied civil judgment resulting from the use, care, or maintenance of a motor vehicle.
- Juvenile Suspension: Under 18 and has been adjudicated unruly, delinquent, or juvenile traffic offender.
- License/Bond Forfeiture: Failure to pay a fine or appear in court in connection to a traffic offense within Ohio.
- Limited Privilege Order: A court grants limited driving privileges during a suspension.
- Liquor Law (Violations): Person of insufficient age uses another person’s driver license or alters one’s own to purchase alcohol.
- Medical (Restricted or Suspension): Suffering from a physical or mental disability or disease that prevents him/her from exercising reasonable/ordinary control of a motor vehicle.
- National Driver Registry (NDR) – Indefinite: Upon a check with other states, an individual is found to be under suspension.
- Non-Compliance (Crash Report Accident UTT Ticket Random Selection): Any driver and/or owner who fails to show Proof of Financial Responsibility was in effect at the time of an accident/offense will lose his/her driving and registration privileges for a minimum of 90 days.
- Non-Resident Violator Compact: Ohio driver has an unpaid ticket from a court in another state.
- Out-of-State Alcohol or Drug Related Offenses: An individual pleads guilty or is convicted of a DUI or Drug related offense in another state.
- OVUAC: Underage drinking with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .02% but less than .08%.
- Physical Control of a Vehicle While Intoxicated: An individual is convicted of having physical control of a vehicle while intoxicated.
- Probationary License Suspension/DUI: The driver is under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, with a prohibited BAC.
- Probationary License Suspension/OVUAC: The driver is under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, with at BAC of .02% or more but less than .08%.
- Probationary Revocations (2 Violations): A person is convicted of two separate moving violations within any two year period prior to 18 years of age.
- Probationary Revocations (3 Violations): A person is convicted of three separate moving violations within any two year period prior to 18 years of age.
- Second Offense DUI: DUI coded by presiding court as a second offense within a six year period.
- Security Suspension: Damages from an accident where a “case” has been established by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
- Violation of Restriction Suspension: A violation of restriction(s) imposed for special mechanical control devices required on a motor vehicle, or any other restrictions applicable to the licensee that were determined to be necessary.
- Warrant Block: A block on either driver license and/or vehicle registration due to outstanding arrest warrant.
- Weapon on School Property: Under 19 years old and conveying or possessing a deadly weapon or dangerous ordinance to, or on school property.
Most Common Driving Under Suspension Charges
Driving Under Suspension or in violation of license restriction: 4510.11
Driving under OVI Suspension: 4510.14
Driving under Financial Responsibility law suspension or cancellation: 4510.16
Ohio DUS License Reinstatement
View Your Ohio Driving Record Online
You can view an unofficial copy of your Ohio driving record, and your reinstatement requirements, on the Ohio BMV website in the section “BMV online services”. You will need your driver’s license number, date of birth and last four digits of your Social Security Number to access this information.
Where to Pay your DUS Reinstatement Fees
We strongly suggest that you pay any required reinstatemend fees IN PERSON at one of the following Bureau of Motor Vehicles Service Centers:
306 2ND Street Southeast
Canton, Ohio 44702
10948 Hamilton Avenue
Cincinnati, Ohio 45231
(513) 742-7535 or
12000 Snow Road, Suite N
Parma, Ohio 44130
1583 Alum Creek Drive
Columbus, Ohio 43209
110 Twin Oaks Drive
Jackson, Ohio 45640
4400 Heatherdowns Blvd.
Toledo, Ohio 43614
Northeast Ohio Regional Service Center
242 Federal Plaza West
Youngstown, Ohio 44503